Lord of Shadows By Cassandra Clare [A REVIEW]

Publication Date: May 23, 2017
Start Date: May 23, 2017
Finish Date: ???
Rating on Goodreads: 4.6 out of 5
Personal Rating: 4.5 out of 5

The Review:

I’m finally back and giving you a book review that’s been long over due. I finished Lord of Shadows over the summer and never got a chance to post my thoughts about until now because life has been crazy and my computer decided it wanted to crash. But I am finally back and ready to give you my thoughts on Cassandra Clare’s newest novel.

Disclaimer: there are two major spoilers in my review so if you haven’t read Lord of Shadows by now….get on the train!

This book was everything I could have ever wanted it to be! The plot was so spread out yet all the different character plots tied in so well with the full story. Most of the questions I had after reading Lady Midnight were answered and I had even more questions after reading Lord of Shadows. I feel like that’s exactly how a second book in a series should leave a reader feeling: a lot of questions are answered but there are even more questions after finishing the last page. I’m even liking how current politics are being played out in this novel.

With the good, however, comes the bad and I do have some minor issues that I feel could’ve gone a wee bit better. One issue, Malcom’s death. Is it me or did his “actual” (still not convinced he’s dead) death seem a little…sudden? He “dies” in such a epic and dramatic way in Lady Midnight you would think his final scene wouldn’t be chalked up to throat slicing. Will just a simple slice of the throat actually kill a warlock? I feel like Malcom’s death could have been just a tad bit more dramatic than it actually was.

Second issue, Emma and Julian’s relationship. It’s getting on my nerves! I rolled my eyes so hard when they got their chance at finally being together taken away. Just let them love!!! I am, however, here for all of Julian’s savagery.

giphy

I ALSO HERE FOR THE MARK, KERIAN AND CHRISTINA SHIP!!! SCREW DIEGO!!! WE DON’T NEED HIM!!!

tenor

What I am not here for is Livvy’s death. She deserved so much better! She deserved to live! What I’m really nervous about is how this is going to effect Ty. He was attached to Livvy practically at the hip. I’m nervous for how this is going to effect his relationship with Kit and the rest of the Blackthorn family.

Despite those issues I still loved every single page and I can’t wait for the next installment. This was a classic Cassandra Clare novel and I’m not ashamed to say I would give this another read.

If you loved Lady Midnight and haven’t read Lord of Shadows by now….please get your life together and get aboard the Shadowhunter train!

Connect with me at:

@focused_genesis  focusedgenesis.tumblr.com      ladysentalks

My Previous Post:

 I Tried a Foot Mask & Here’s What Happened

My Next Post:

jeffree-star-fb

One thought on “Lord of Shadows By Cassandra Clare [A REVIEW]”

Leave a Reply

