Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas [A Review] SPOILERS!

Start Date: April 17, 2017

Finish Date: April 24, 2017

Publication Date: August 15, 2013

Rating on Goodreads: 4.5/5

Personal Rating: 5/5

The Review:
This book has got to be my favorite book of the series! The plot twists right when you think everything is going to be okay, the character development, and the fact that other characters seem to be making their way back into the series it all makes me so excited to read Heir of Fire. If you thought that Throne of Glass was full of plot twists Crown of Midnight will throw you for a loop.

The story line makes so much more sense now. There are so many things that I could talk about but one of the main things that made things make more sense was the fact that is the saving grace Princess Aelin!!!!! Oh my gosh! Think about it. In the first book there was a scene in the beginning where she woke up surrounded by a circle of flowers in the dead of fall. That revealed that she has magic and her back story as well contributes to things as well.

Since we’re talking about magic let’s talk about Dorain Havilliard and the fact that he has magic! Dorian and Celaena, or should I say Aelin, have now discovered that they have magic which means that magic is not dead, it’s just lying dormant in those who had magical family lines.

The character development in this installment was phenomenal! I have so much more of an appreciation for Celaena now. She is such a badass in this novel and I am beyond surprised at how much I enjoyed her. I also like how vulnerable she was when she and Chaol finally got together.

I have to say that I don’t really like her and Chaol together. He’s so boring and safe compared to Dorian. Dorian makes Celaena laugh, and she is a wake up call for him. I think it’s safe to say that I really love Dorian.
Her relationships seem to mean so much more because it was actually voiced that she was tired of losing friends. Of course we all know when a character says they’re tired of losing friends and relationships a relationship has to be lost. Which brings me to the topic of Nehemia.

I hate, absolutely hate that Nehemia had to die. Out of all the characters in this series Nehemia is my favorite. I imagine her as small and delicate looking but her personality is anything but delicate. She didn’t take any bulshit and voiced her voiced her opions whether the king liked it or not. She knew and saw all of the wrong things that the king was doing and she was going to do anything in her power to stop it.

I do not know how I’m going to get through this series without Nehemia. I also want to punch Chaol in the face for letting it happen. I’ve seen a lot of people that are 100 percent team Chaol and I just can’t side with him, not after what he did. He could have warned Calaena and none of what happened would have happened. I don’t care if he saved the dog. Chaol Westfall has fallen from grace.

I can’t wait to start reading Heir of Fire. I’ve been taking breaks in between books in the series and reading a different book after reading a book from this series and I’m regretting it just a little bit this time. I want to read Heir of Fire so bad!

Comment below if you’ve read Crown of Midnight and let me know your thoughts!

 

Connect with me:

@focused_genesis          focusedgenesis             ladysentalks.com

 

Leave a Reply

