The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas [A Review]

Start Date: 3/317

End Date: 3/20/17

Publication Date: 3/4/17

Rating on Goodreads: 4.5 out of 5 stars

The Review:
The Assassin’s Blade is a wonderful bind up of five stories and events that take place before Throne of Glass. Do you need to read The Assassin’s Blade for story progression? No. Should you read The Assassin’s Blade just for the thrill of a good story? Yes! It didn’t even feel like I was reading a bind up of novellas. With the way the stories progressed and the flow between the stories it felt like I was reading a full blown novel.

I don’t think I’ll go through every story only for the fact that this book review will be very very long. I will be going through some of my favorite moments. So it’ll be treated as a regular book review.

One of the big things that I loved about this book was that we were introduced to Celaena, Sam and Arobynn. In Throne of Glass we only knew Sam as an idea of a character that died before the actual story began. Celaena knew him at one point and he died but that was all we got. The Assassin’s Blade lets us see what Sam was like when he was alive and I got way too attached.

Sam and Celaena’s relationship will definitely go down as one of my favorite book couples of all time even though the relationship was short lived. I had a thought that maybe, just maybe, Celaena didn’t like Sam only because her attitude didn’t allow for her to actually like other people but I didn’t realize just how much until this book. It heart my heart so much knowing that Sam was always treated as second best. Even in their relationship Celaena never trusted him to do things on his own. It hurt my heart so much!

When it comes to Arobynn we all knew he was a jerk but this just proved he’s even more of a jerk. What “father figure” forces a child to break her own hand out of the excuse of strength?! I never trusted Arobynn when we learned about him in Throne of Glass but from the stories in this prequel novel I just want to kill him. I do wonder though what Celaena’s going to do if and when she finds out Arobynn is the one who got her arrested an sent to Endovier?

My favorite story out of the five has to be The Assassin and the Empire. This story is basically the beginning before the beginning. We get to see Sam’s death. We get to see the reason why Celaena was captured and sent to Endovier. We get to see some of the stories that are told in Throne of Glass brought to life!

If you have read Throne of Glass and loved it you’ll really enjoy The Assassin’s Blade. The good thing about The Assassin’s Blade is that it can be read before or after Throne of Glass. I loved The Assassin’s Blade and this got me really excited for Crown of Midnight!
 

Connect with me over at:

@focused_genesis             focusedgenesis                ladysentalks.com

One thought on “The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Maas [A Review]”

Leave a Reply

