Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas [A Review]

Start Date: I don’t  Remember

End Date: 1/17/2017

Publication Date: 9/7/2012

Rating On Goodreads: 4.2 out of 5

My Personal Rating: 4 out of 5

The Review:

In this first installment the main character, a famous assassin, Celaena Sardothien is taken from imprisonment to compete in a competition to become the King’s Champion. Despite her hatred towards the king for taking away everything she holds dear she accepts the offer knowing her freedom is within reach. While the test is taking place contestants in the competition are dying off one by one. It’s up to Celaena to find who’s killing the Champions and win the competition for her freedom and the people she cares about most.

I wanted to give a nice overview of the book without spoiling too much for you guys! I hope I did it justice.

This book brought me back to the world of fantasy and magic just the way I wanted to be brought back. While I wasn’t too interested in the book at first I couldn’t help but love it in the end. I think it was Calaena’s character that both threw me off and drew me in at the same time.

I couldn’t stand Calaena at first. I thought she was stuck up, rude and way too proud of herself. Then I saw her character progression and I couldn’t help but love her. The love triangle also through me off. I have to admit that after Twilight I have been a little bit hesitant toward love triangles but this was done beautifully. While it’s easy to tell that Chaol liked Calaena it’s even easier to tell that he also RESPECTED her and knew that she could slit his throat and not bat an eyelash about it if he pissed her off enough. While we have Dorain who’s just plain old obsessed and he makes me want to vomit half the time and then wrap him in bubble wrap to protect him when he doesn’t make me want to smack him.

I loved that we were able to learn the history of the royal family and what happened to the world. Speaking of the royal family, the King made me want to slap him so hard! He was such a good villain and the fact that he paired with someone from the court makes me very excited to see where this goes.

I can’t wait to start reading the next book in the series! While this book ended nicely and everything was brought together I’m still left with so many questions. The only reason why I gave this a 4 out of 5 was for the pacing of the story and the fact that it took so long to get to the action. Other than that I loved it! Have you read this book yet? I want to hear your thoughts in the comments below!

Connect with me:

@focused_genesis                      focusedgenesis                            Ladysentalks.com

Leave a Reply

