Daughter of Smoke and Bone By Laini Taylor [A Review]

Start Date: August 20th 2016

End Date: September 21st 2016

Publication Date: September 27th 2011

Rating on Goodreads: 4/5

The Review:

So we’ve got a lot to talk about with this one. Daughter of Smoke and Bone is probably one of the most hyped up books in the book lover fandom and I…was not a fan. I was confused from the second chapter all the way to the end but I couldn’t stop myself from reading it! I will say that this is by far the most interesting book that I’ve come across

I absolutely loved the characters and how strong they were even in the midst of confusion especially Karou. Karou is by far the strongest character I’ve come across. When she was thrown out and lost her family after that she didn’t wallow in her own misery she got up off her ass and promised to find them and in between that she found out who she really was. I loved Karou to death.

Can we talk about how badass  Zuzana is as a best friend? What person do you know that will take the revelation that magic and half animal creatures and angels are real as well as Zuzana did?! She didn’t walk out on Karou, she didn’t drop her, no Zuzana stayed by her best friends side before she was kinf od thrown out the story by the end. I will say this again Zuzana is badass!

Akiva as a character was one of the characters that confused me about this. How do you go from wanting to kill a person to falling in love with them almost automatically and letting your guard down completely? Maybe it was meant to be a love at first sight thing because of what happens later? (I refuse to spoil you guys anymore)

I think that one of the things that confused me while reading this is that the scenes felt so irregular to me. Some scenes went too fast and some scenes felt too slow. Sometimes while I was reading I felt like I missed some information and had to reread a couple pages. I couldn’t understand why it felt like so much was missing. The language also felt a little too flowery for me.

I can tell you guys that even though this wasn’t my favorite read I couldn’t stop myself from reading. I didn’t know If I should stop reading or keep going because I knew there would e scenes and bit about the story that I loved. But I can say with full confidence that I won’t go into the second book though. While I did/didn’t like reading Daughter of Smoke and Bone I could really go on with life without knowing what happens next.

I’m going to give this a personal rating of 3.5/5 only because I was compelled to finish the book for certain scenes. But don’t take my word for it, if you haven’t read Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor pick it up and let me know what you thought in the comments!

Leave a Reply

