Love Letters to the Dead By: Ava Dellaira [A Review]

Start Date: July 18th

End Date: July 31st

Publication Date: April 1, 2014

Rating on Goodreads: 3.8/5 stars

Synopsis from Goodreads:

It begins as an assignment for English class: Write a letter to a dead person.

Laurel chooses Kurt Cobain because her sister, May, loved him. And he died young, just like May. Soon laurel has a notebook full of letters to the dead – to people like Janis Joplin, Heater Ledger, Amelia Earhart, and Amy Winehouse – though she never gives a single one of them to her teacher. She writes about starting high school, navigating the choppy waters of new friendships, learning to live with her splintering family, falling in love for the first time, and, most important, trying to grieve for May. But how do you mourn for someone you haven’t forgiven?

It’s not until Laurel has written the truth about what happened to herself that she can finally accept what happened to May. And only when Laurel has begun to see her sister as the person she was – lovely and amazing and deeply flawed – can she truly start to discover her own path.

In a voice that’s as lyrical and as true as  a favorite song, Ava Dellaira writes about one girl’s journey though life’s challenges with a haunting and often heartbreaking beauty.

My Review:

This years has not been a great reading year for me. This was sadly one of those books where I was completely enthralled in the beginning then the excitement died down half way through.  I flew through the first 150 pages. After that the story got repetitive. Even the “plot twist” was sort of just okay and didn’t blow my mind. It’s really sad because the plot was really promising. I found myself excited not for more of the story but for the fact that I was going to finish the story.

While I loved that there was LGBT representation and each of the characters had their own issues to deal with they seemed so bland and unforgettable to me. I can’t even pick a favorite character because there really wasn’t just one specific character that stuck with me from beginning to end.

It’s really disappointing how repetitive the story got. All the main character kept talking about was her love interest, Sky. I feel like that’s all I read. I love Sky, Sky’s so cute, Sky’s so mysterious (not really), Sky is my world. It got real annoying really quick. I understood to some extent because if you think about it what were we like as teenagers just starting high school with a first crush or boyfriend? That guy or girl was our entire universe and when we got rejected we thought we would never love again. Still I couldn’t help thinking  is there nothing else going on in this girl’s life?!

I have a feeling that if I had read this book when I was first starting high school I would have eaten this up since this is what I was into reading wise. Sadly I read this as an adult and it was a little less then enjoyable. I honestly wouldn’t even recommend this to a teenager nowadays with how many triggers there are in this novel and how depressingly sad it was to read. I’m giving this a personal rating of 3/5 only because the plot had potential and I was very interested in this in the beginning.

Leave a Reply

